Types of dangerous goods transported by land

Dangerous goods are those goods that are considered hazardous to people, property, animals, and the environment if not appropriately controlled. Usually, nuclear waste and explosives come to our mind when we talk about «dangerous goods». But the fact is global transport and supply chain, either domestic or international, is also considered as dangerous.

Due to the recent disastrous explosions, now the freight shippers and the goods handlers have become very careful about the movement of goods. They make sure that the goods which they are transporting meets the Dangerous Goods Regulations (DG regulations) or not. It is the DG regulations that prevent the people as well as property from the accidents by formulating various rules. Following points explain several types of dangerous goods.

Class 1 (Explosives)

This level contains the items that can explode. Six divisions come under this category.

  • Goods under this division have a massive explosion hazard
  • These goods are also hazardous but come under the category of projection hazards
  • These goods have a fire hazard but not massive
  • These goods have less dangerous properties
  • Such items are considered insensitive, but they are explosive
  • Such substances are also insensitive but do not have an enormous explosion.

Class 2 (Gases)

This class includes flammable, non-flammable, toxic as well as non-toxic gases. Examples include oxygen, carbon dioxide, chlorine, etc.

Class 3 (Flammable Liquids)

Class 3 contains flammable liquids such as petrol.

Class 4 (Flammable solids)

This class contains the goods which emit flammable gases on water contact. Examples include phosphorus, carbon, and Sulphur. This class has further three divisions.

  • This division contains the solids that are self-reactive
  • These goods generate combustion
  • These goods emit flammable gases on water contact

Class 5 (Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides)

This class of dangerous goods contains organic and oxidizing items such as sodium nitrate, ammonium nitrate, as well as potassium chlorate.


Class 6 (Toxic and infectious substances)

This class of dangerous goods contains items that can cause death or injury if they are inhaled or swallowed. These substances are considered as toxic because they cause damage even if they come close to the skin. In addition to that, it contains infectious substances such as bacteria, viruses as well as several items of material waste.

Class 7 (Radioactive materials and substances)

This class contains materials that emit radiation. These substances affect the cells of the body and disrupt other metabolic processes. Examples include uranium.

Class 8 (Corrosive substances)

This class contains substances that cause severe damage on contact with the skin.

Class 9 (Other dangerous substances)

Other levels do not cover these goods.


Dangerous goods can come in many forms. They can be liquid, solid or gas but their hazardous effects can cause many problems not only for people but for animals and the environment as well. Due to the Dangerous Goods Regulations, we can come to know about the goods that we can or cannot carry with one another in the same unit.

Post a Comment